Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Discouraged - now have to rebuild caliper

After deciding not to replace the ball joint yet, I quickly finished up the rotor replacement, bearing repack, flex line and new pads. I then moved on to the other side. It sure is easier and faster to do the second of anything.

As I pulled the pads off the caliper, I looked in to see a torn seal. Arghhhhhh. I did not plan on rebuilding the caliper (and I've never done it before). So I soaked it in brake cleaner, which started to eat at my caliper paint. Next hour spent brushing off red paint. I guess I'll have one silver shoe, 3 red ones.

The first caliper looked "okay" - but I'm guessing with one caliper going, the other is not far behind. Any big issues with doing one caliper rebuild this month, the other another month or so from now? It won't get driven much...

Sorry - I'm just a little discouraged tonight. I was 30 minutes from bleeding brakes and now I'm X hours from rebuilding a caliper. Bleah.

Old 01-02-2004, 05:25 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
I would do them in pairs only. Brakes are too important to muck about with. The rebuild is pretty straight forward (with 101 projects book) and the kits are cheap.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
1997 Boxster 986 2.5l
Old 01-02-2004, 05:26 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Used User

Sorry your paint came off. What kind of 'brake cleaner' did you use? The only stuff I know is a very fast evaporating spray. And it eats spray paint readily, but not powder coat.