Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Porter Cable 7424/Detailing

Hi All -

Thinking about getting a PC7424. Too many cars to do by hand.

I have read many things that say it is a fool proof tool (i.e. won't scratch or burn the paint).

I have never used a buffer before.

Pro's/Con's? Tips/tricks? Real world experiences?

Thanks,
Seth

Old 01-03-2004, 09:37 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
never ending projects

do a search for GEM buffers, I think that they are out of Pa. It is an orbital that will not burn the paint or put swirl marks in it. They make an aluminum unit that is a bit lighter than the rest and
cheaper. Probably about 160- 170 bucks but will last forever.
jGood luck. Chuck
Old 01-03-2004, 11:06 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Did you get the memo?

my day of detailing

jeremy964 talks highly about using a PC Random orbit in this thread, maybe you could PM him, he could probably give you some feedback, he seems to like his. I assume this is the one from Griots Garage?
Old 01-04-2004, 07:10 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to eurocarrera
porsche356a, just make sure you use products made for an orbital polisher. I made the mistake of using just regular polish on an old beater of mine, and it burnt through the paint.