Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Question early 911 throttle response

I am still in the process of deciding on an early 911 to buy. Taking the advice of this board I talked to a local Porsche mechanic who specializes in 1989 or earlier models only. He said two things that surprised me: 1) the 2.7 motor once properly built is one of the best engines Porsche made (it might take over 10K build it this way), and 2) that a PMO carb set-up, on the earlier engines, would have much better throttle response than a fuel injected engine. I am still learning but I I have always thought just the opposite about those two things (especially the carbs). What's the consensus of your experience?

thanks, Lester

Old 02-02-2004, 08:58 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Administrator

There are two 2.7 motors. One was the one used in the 1973 Carrera RS and the Euro Carrera of 74 (and 75?). It's a 210 hp motor, with mechanical fuel injection, and is something of a legend among Porsche powerplants. Then there's also the 2.7-liter motor that was used in the US-market cars from 1974-1977. It had CIS injection (called K Jetronic), and produced less power (150, 165, or 175 hp, depending on the model) than its famous predecessor. After 1975, US emissions laws forced Porsche to put thermal reactors on the 2.7, which pushed the already-stressed magnesium toward overheating. Headstuds tended to pull out of the soft magnesium.