Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Thumbs up The Ultimate F/G panel fitting thread!

Since I am just getting started and many here have done it. I figured this would be good for the future generations of Pelicanheads.
I have started with the hood. After aligning the hood with the fender rails I had to trim the rear of the hood where it meets the cowel. I did this by removing the hood and using a very coarse half-round file. Once I got the hood to go on without interference I used a high speed air sander with a flexible sanding disc at 24 grit. With the grit side facing the F/G hood (Duh) I followed the contour of the cowel and created a perfectly contoured gap. Anything the was left I cleaned up with a Dremel. I still need to shim the hood up to line up with the cowl surface.

My questions are as follows:

Do I need to install the hood seal before I fit the fenders?

Any tips on Hood pin install?

What is the standard body panel gap for a 911?
2001 Xterra
1997 Jeep Wrangler "The Tick"
Old 03-09-2004, 09:30 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Re: The Ultimate F/G panel fitting thread!

Quote:
Originally posted by thrown_hammer

Do I need to install the hood seal before I fit the fenders?

Any tips on Hood pin install?

What is the standard body panel gap for a 911?
Do not fit the seal before the fenders, it will make access to the bolts difficult and does nothing for you at this stage. you can lay the seal in place without adhesive to help adjusting the hinges, upward pressure by the seal will raise the hood at the hinges.