Pelican Parts Forums

Pelican Parts Forums (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/)
-   Porsche 911 Technical Forum (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsche-911-technical-forum/)
-   -   steering vibration (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsche-911-technical-forum/245023-steering-vibration.html)

GotaT 10-08-2005 11:03 AM

steering vibration

I have a 71 911t and have an Awful steering wheel vibration when going about 55 mph. I just got new tires put on it and had it balanced. I can feel some slack in the steering wheel at a stand still when moving it left to right.. .. ... Oh , the vibration at 55 is a left right vibration in the steering wheel.. the car still tracks straight !...
Any Ideas!!! ?????

Im pretty sure ball joints are good

livi 10-08-2005 11:10 AM

Alignment ?
Correct tire pressure ?
Brake pads / disks ?

I am a novice - but thought I give it a try anyway.. ;)

al lkosmal 10-08-2005 11:17 AM

I had a mild vibration after new tires and front wheel bearings. One of my front wheel bearings wasn't tightened properly and had some play in it. Adjusted it properly and the vibration went away. I check this out first since it is an easy thing to check and fix, if required.

ghnat 10-08-2005 11:18 AM

You might want to check the tie rods and bearings, in addiation to what Marcus said. Does the 71 have "Steering Wheel Bearing Qwik-Fix Sleeve" problems like mine did? If so that may help if you can move the wheel up and down/left and right with out turning the wheel.
Any good advice from the suspension pros and this one?

GotaT 10-10-2005 08:19 AM

hey greg, my 71 does not have the quick fix steering wheel. however mine does show some minor play in it.. but i dont think that would cause the problem I'm seeing.. The steering wheel moves left and right about an inch to inch and a half. and i can see the front fenders bobbing up and down. : (

GotaT 10-10-2005 08:25 AM

oh .. i have New front pads and rotors.. Rears are used

avendlerdp 10-10-2005 08:29 AM