Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered

Send a message via AIM to GotaT Send a message via Yahoo to GotaT
steering vibration

I have a 71 911t and have an Awful steering wheel vibration when going about 55 mph. I just got new tires put on it and had it balanced. I can feel some slack in the steering wheel at a stand still when moving it left to right.. .. ... Oh , the vibration at 55 is a left right vibration in the steering wheel.. the car still tracks straight !...
Any Ideas!!! ?????

Im pretty sure ball joints are good

Old 10-08-2005, 11:03 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
durn for'ner

Alignment ?
Correct tire pressure ?
Brake pads / disks ?

I am a novice - but thought I give it a try anyway..

Carrera '85
Old 10-08-2005, 11:10 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Registered

I had a mild vibration after new tires and front wheel bearings. One of my front wheel bearings wasn't tightened properly and had some play in it. Adjusted it properly and the vibration went away. I check this out first since it is an easy thing to check and fix, if required.
[B]Current projects: 69-911.5, Previous:73 911X (off to SanFrancisco/racing in Germany).77 911S (NY), 71E (France/Corsica), 66-912 ( France), 1970 914X (Wisconsin) 76 911S roller..off to Florida/Germany
RGruppe #669
http://www.x-faktory.com/
Old 10-08-2005, 11:17 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Will program for food

Garage