Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Stranger on the Internet

Stripped Shock Mount

Well, the threads in the left trailing arm are stripped such that I cannot torque the shock absorber M14x1.5 bolt. My intention is to Heli-coil it, as I have lots of experience with these.

Anyone got any alternate suggestions, or successful repair stories?
Thanks!
Pat

Old 10-12-2005, 06:05 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Stranger on the Internet

Well. since the alternate solutions never arrived, I said screw it anfd put in a Heli-coil.

In the photo, you can see a hex shaped bit of steel. Does anyone know if this is a Porsche insert into the aluminum trailing arm? Can it be replaced? I only had a 21mm length Heli-coil, so I went with that, but it needs to be longer. It did work, however. I do have a bit of concern about the long term durability.
Pat

Battery died in the camera at this point. Sorry.
Old 10-14-2005, 09:52 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

I dunno - but it is a good bet that you want the strongest possible "re-thread."

There are also items called Time-Certs - you've probably heard of them.

And there are some other things too but I don't recall their name.

I would go to a real good fastener shop and see what they have (in metric) and ask the best guy there what is the strongest - tell him the loads are primarily in shear.

Also, keep on bumping this thread and maybe Jim Sims will post for you. There might be some other engineers with a lot of fastener experience on the bbs too.

- Ferris Bueller's Day Off
Old 10-14-2005, 01:01 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)