Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered

Are rotor holes really cast or drilled?

There is a two page discussion on another board with a $200 prize for anyone who can prove that the OEM Porsche rotor holes are actually cast, and not drilled. It been about 10 months and so far no one has won the money. I know it CAN be done, because I'm an engineer with a company that uses extremely complex castings that include angled holes as small as 0.030" diameter. But I can't prove that any of the rotors made by Brembo or others actually use this process. Is it a myth? Marketing drivel? Are the holes really cast, can you PROVE it?

Here is the challenge and a link to the discussion:

http://corner-carvers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21273&highlight=cast+holes

Pass the word to other forums;

We have talked about it here a number of time.....
It's on every forum.....
It has the makings of a classic internet rumor.....
There has been talk of one manufacture......
Even one pretty good comment on another forum....

But yet today this still remains; an unsubstantiated rumor. Fueled by fans, believers and 'experts'. Or at least ones who know one, down the block, in the basement, with the lights out....

What is it?

Porsche rotors with CAST in holes.

It has been talked about here with no proof. It has been spoken of in quiet circles. Talk, talk, talk. And at the last Porsche event I worked with the new Boxster....well, they were drilled. Sorry.