Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Thumbs up How-to: Rear Oil Line Replacement (lots of photos)

Thanks to information found in numerous posts on this forum, I successfully replaced both oil lines connecting to the rear fender thermostat last week. Since this seems like a pretty common issue, and there is a lot of documentation here about ways to attack it, I thought I'd post my experience. Hopefully it will benefit someone in the future.

The car is a '77 911S with the trombone front cooler. I believe the oil lines were original to the car. I'm not an expert on this at all, so take this for what it is. It was just my experience, your mileage may vary. Also, no comments on the general filthiness of my car...I'm working on it!

Here are the lines and thermostat before I started. These had been soaking in PB Blaster for several days but they absolutely would not move. I wasn't going to try a torch in my solvent-soaked work space.

I decided to use the cutoff wheel method noted in several posts here. I started by cutting the lines off really close to the nuts to buy some room to work. I used an air-powered cutoff wheel. Expect a bit of a mess...

I then used the wheel to cut slots in the back and side of the nut. This was pretty nerve-wracking, but taking a few quick measurements on the new lines gave me an idea of how much metal I had to work with. In the end, I was able to cut all the way through down to the threads.

Once cut, I used a prybar to open up the slots a bit. A combination of the prybar, the oil line wrench, and a hammer were enough to start the nut turning off the threads. Even when spread open by several millimeters it took a lot of coaxing.