Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 14 votes, 3.57 average.
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

1967 911 restoration...becoming a T/R

I recently acquired this 1967 here on Pelican a few weeks ago. The mechanicals are nearly complete but it was begging for a cosmetic restoration. The car appears to be all original sheet metal and has never had any prior repairs or accident history. Oh, the front suspension pan was replaced already so that does not need to be addressed. I am going to post photos of the somewhat small rust repair issues both for my benefit and the benefit of others. I am hoping that others will chime in and give me advice etc as I have never done these types of repairs before.

The car will stay light ivory but will have surprise paint and graphic scheme. At this point it is still a vision in my mind, we'll see how that pans out. I have some hood mounted rally lights that will accompany the through the horn grill fogs. The interior will get RS or ST type seats, a 911R type wheel and then simply paint the interior so it will be void of carpet etc... I will most likely simplify the door panels, delete the radio and install a TRE 911R roll bar.

Thats the plan at this point although I am attacking this one step at a time. I will update as I make progress but for now, I will make up for the last two weekends and post several pics...

Here it was prior to purchasing it... my cars never stay this way for long as many of you know after following my ST build.

I did manage to drive this one for a few days before tearing into it. It drives and handles very well for a SWB!

Then one night I started cutting to see how extensive the known rust areas were...