Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

pedal to the floor or lower gear

Stupid question:

Going uphill and trying to maintain the same speed .....am I better off using a lower gear to maintain speed or a higher gear but with the pedal to the floor?

I am looking for input (pros and cons) with regard to:

1. Gas Mileage?
2. Engine wear and Tear?

Thanks!

Old 04-26-2002, 06:26 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
A lot does depend on initial velocity of the vehicle, gear in which the vehicle is engaged, and gradient of the slope.
I'm not an expert, and perhaps others will be more precise in explaining, but
-don't stay in 5th, pedal to the floor, at less than say 3000 rpm
-don't either stay any time in 1st, even 2nd gear
-stick to medium rpm's in 3rd or 4th gears, that should in actual practice cover most slopes you would in actual practice encounter
-this would be valid for less than VERY steep gradients, in which case you need to limit your speed as well as remain in middle-range rpm. of any practical gear
-try a Cayenne
I would consider, for average gradients, to stay in a medium gear with medium rpm's as better policy than low revs in high gear.
Old 04-26-2002, 06:58 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)