Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average.
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Wobbling Front Pulley 85 Carrera

So about 2 weeks ago I started heard a funny noise at idle and opened the hood and saw nothing funny. Then on my drive from Texas to NC last week I opened the hood again and saw that the fan belt was a little bit loose. Finished the drive and then yesterday I heard the noise again and saw that the pulley appeared to be wobbling forward and backward (axially) about a 1/2". Then today my cousin and I looked at it and he was watching as a started it and noticed that the pulley is warped. Enough that it's beginning to rub the fan housing. Is all I need to do replace the pulley? (I'm a total Porsche noob, first 911)

1985 Porsche 911 Carrera Front Pulley warped. - YouTube
Old 10-30-2012, 02:52 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Member 911 Anonymous

Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to DRACO A5OG
Oh my Brother,

Your pulley bolt is loose, ask me how I know. It may have also compromised your crank shaft seal and/or worse the #8 bearing seal.

Here is my write up: Crankshaft Seal Club, just joined :-o fix on page 4

I feel your pain :-(

You may get lucky and just need to be torqued down.

Jim
Factory Marble Grey/Black * Turbo Tail * 930 Steering Wheel* Sport Seats * 17" Fuchs (r) * 3.4 * 964 Cams * 915 * LSD * Factory SS * Turbo Tie Rods * Bilsteins * Euro Pre-Muff * SW Chip on 4K DME * NGK * Sienes GSK * Targa Body Brace
PCA/POC

Last edited by DRACO A5OG; 10-30-2012 at 03:28 PM..
Old 10-30-2012, 03:07 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Member 911 Anonymous

Garage