Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Stupid People

Thought the 911 folks might appreciate this...

Well, a slow day in the shop today - until a customer (who shall be known as dumbass) came in with his car (996 Carrera 4) on a towtruck.

Dumbass states that his car mysteriously "stopped running" while he was on a high speed run along I-95.

As I am the junior mechanic (meaning I have 10 years experience, as opposed to the other guys haveing 15+) I am told to "troubleshoot"

Great!, don't see too many 996's, as most of them are still under factory warranty so they go the the dealership for repairs.

Visual inspection of the engine shows some heat discoloration - hmm...

Coolant tank shows the dreaded "chocolate malt" Something is wrong here - it almost looks like a "chocolate/strawberry malt" Car has less than 5k miles on it - no stamp in the book for an oil change - we stamp the books too - we can't use the Porsche stamp though.

Pull the dipstick - same thing - oil is at correct level - notice a band of red fluid at the upper end of the dipstick. ((PUZZLING - but getting a vague sinking feeling))

Drain oil - hmmm...it just doesn't look right - then again all of those metal flakes shouldn't be there... but the oil just looks "Wrong" Smells burned.

Take dumbass into the office. Ask him to describe what happened, what he was doing, what did his gauges read, any odd noises.

Dumbass states that nothing out of the ordinary until about 2 minutes before the car stalled - engine temp spiked. dumbass then added that car has not run right since he changed the oil....

I ask "really, tell me about your oil change"