Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

1981 911SC new buyer advice needed

Greetings,
I'm considering purchasing an '81 911SC with 120k miles on it.
I've never owned a Porsche, I have limited mechanical knowledge.
I realize most of these 35+ year old cars leak some oil, this one in particular leaks
a small amount from an unknown origin on the right side. How much of a concern is this? Does an oil leak mean bigger problems down the road?

Also,
Does anyone know how these generation SCís fare in a California smog test?
The car is out of state and doesn't require a smog test, I would need one done.
How difficult is it to get the car properly tuned?

Thank you.
Old 04-05-2016, 10:14 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
With limited mechanical knowledge i would highly recommend you get a PPI (pre purchase inspection).
Without disclosing to much info what state is the car in question in? I'm sure someone here can recommend a good shop to inspect it for you. The shop should be able to tell you if all the necessary parts to pass smog are on the vehicle.

The oil leak may be a minor problem.......or not. A good shop will know.

Good luck.
Old 04-05-2016, 10:34 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

pete3799

Thanks for the info, car is in NE.
If anyone does know of a good shop to do a ppi in Albion,
I'd be interested.
Thanks!
Old 04-05-2016, 10:41 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)