Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Option sticker ? / First post

Hello, this is my first post but I've been lurking for a while. You guys have a great forum here. FYI I am a total car guy but this Porsche thing is completely new to me so please forgive my ignorance.

So my ? is, I'm looking at an 86 Carrera coupe. Supposedly it is a California car it's whole life. The vin indicates that it was destined for Canada or USA the fourth to sixth characters on VIN are 0AB (so I believe that's a guarantee of USA or Canadian car) however .........

The option sticker under the hood (god, I guess maybe it's not a hood in the Porsche world, like I said I'm a newbie) indicates a code of 479 which I believe indicates "version for Australia". Should it have code 553, which I believe was the USA code?

Could someone please explain this?

Thanks in advance and looking forward to Porsche ownership in the near future.
Old 01-11-2018, 10:33 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Hi to ya PCH. (Am thinking Pacific Coast Hwy.)

I went to 84,85,86,87 Porsche Technical Specifications booklet only to find page 9---where '86 Model should be---it's headed '84 Model! There is different content under "Chassis Number Ranges" so azzumption is the pages header is a typo.

According to the Chassis Number info in booklet, US Coupe 911 would have number range: WPO ABO 91 -- GS 12 0001 (through 5000.) RoW would have: WPO ZZZ 91 Z GS 10 0001 (through 5000.)