Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
My Electrocooler install

I have decided to document my install of the Classic Retrofit Electrocooler system into my 81 SC. A couple disclaimers.. I am not a mechanic. I'm a guy with 3 kids with a garage and a basic set of tools. I have no idea if my install will be successful, or how long it will take. I may be doing things the wrong way sometimes, so if anyone sees something that doesn't look right then please let me know. I will not be offended.

My SC was a factory AC car. When I bought it, I knew that the AC didn't work. I wasn't sure that I needed it, but after driving late last summer and fall I realized that it would be nice to have AC. I needed a bunch of work over the winter, so I had the independent that I use remove the factory AC components and lines. They also upgraded the alternator to a 90A unit as required. I ended up buying a new fan housing instead of having the stock one machined to fit the new alternator. I considered having the shop do the install, but the labor cost involved would have been very costly.

I contacted Jonny in early November to put down a deposit. There were some delays due to a supplier issue for the evaporators, but Jonny was quick to update me whenever I sent him an email. I ended up receiving the parts in March, which was fine for me since it was still winter here. I did have to fill out some customs forms from FedEx when the package arrived and I did have to pay about $75 in customs fees. The boxes looked fine, but when I opened them there was Styrofoam EVERYWHERE. The boxes must have been roughed up a bit but the parts all looked good, just took a good amount of work to free the Styrofoam, especially from the condenser.