Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
'79 OUTLAW

Garage
'79 SC - Thoughts on AC delete

I'm considering my AC options. I got my first 911 last week. A.C. is installed but not connected (no relay or fuse and no belt). I have no previous experience with 911s!

I have read a ton of threads here about how to delete, everyone's opinion on whether to or not seems divided. So my question is this:

Should I throw in a new relay and fuse and put a belt in and see what happens. I assume I'd then need to recharge etc. and potentially troubleshoot a world of problems from a non-operational AC. Or should I save myself a world of pain about at least 40lbs of dead weight and pull it completely and if I did would it have any resell value?

Thoughts?!
Old 05-23-2018, 11:11 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
I bought my first 911 almost a year ago, an 80 SC Targa. AC installed but not working. From the research I have done I donít believe it is worth the trouble to refresh it given the apparent fact that these systems never worked that well in the beginning. I pulled my compressor and condenser a couple of weeks ago, not so much to save weight but more to make it easier to work in the engine bay.

My plan is to save up for a Classic Retrofit Electrocooler while watching their early adopters to see how they do and how the system does.
Old 05-23-2018, 11:34 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
'79 OUTLAW

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by toddetch View Post
My plan is to save up for a Classic Retrofit Electrocooler while watching their early adopters to see how they do and how the system does.