Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Compufire vs Ignitor

Which is better compu-fire or ignitor electronic ignition? How is the installation of ignitor in terms of adjustments.......?? Anyone had experience with these?

All opinions welcome!
Old 11-14-2004, 03:49 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
The ignitor fits really easily, but you must be sure to specify for the right distributor: stock, 009, or 050. I have no experience with compu-fire. Ther really is no adjustment capacity at all. Its like points- on or off based on the location of the distributor relative to the crankshaft... or would it be the camshaft? Well I guess it doesn't matter.

My gallery page
Old 11-14-2004, 04:13 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

When I had the big four in my race car I used a Compufire unit and never had any problems. I have had one in my daughter's 74 2.0L for 6 years and never had a problem with it.
Old 11-14-2004, 04:24 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

John, I've had the Compufire for about 3 years with no problems until now. The ground wire going into the module broke off and doesn't look like it can be sodered. I'm away at school(914=only car) and walked to the nearest auto parts store to get a set of points and condensor for a temporary fix. Put them in and smoked the condensor wire b/c I evidently grounded it out by not mounting it. Can this mean the condensor is cooked/bad? Is it possible that I shorted something else while cranking the engine and grounding the condensor wire?