Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Tachometer woes

I've been working on my 914 72' off and on for the past 6 months. I've done so many things to my car that I forgotten where everything belong. But like one big massive jigsaw puzzle I think I got everything in place, except....

the tachometer, it doesn't work, and my emergency brake indicator keeps flashing.

I've been hunting through the Haynes manual but the electrical diagram to the tachometer is so vague that I get confused when I look at it.

Can anybody out there explain to a novice like me how the tachometer works? and a few things I can look for when trying to solve my problem?

Old 06-07-1998, 12:12 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Author of "101 Projects"

Hi there Howard,

Going into the tach, there is power, ground and signal. The signal wire should be black and purple, the ground wire should be brown.

This purple/black wire goes down the center tunnel to the terminal on the coil that is attached to the points. The tachometer is driven off of the points signal.

The blinking brake light may be caused by the switch in your master cylinder. Check out the explanation at:

http://www.pelicanparts.com/914/914QA/914Q_brakes_e_light.htm

Hope this helps,

Wayne
Old 06-08-1998, 07:16 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Oh, well when I took out my transmission and put it back in, there were a few wires I didn't know where they belong.