Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

914-6 runs lousy@<4000rpm

Hi, I'm new to this bbs stuff so please ignore any wrongs I may commit. I bought a 1970 914-6 (duel webers) from an older guy who was storing it for a friend who passed away and left it to him. Hasn't been on the road for 10+ years but was started fairly regularly and driven around the lot some. The car is in really nice shape, little if any rust, and has 42,000 miles on it. Cold start is difficult, starts and dies immediatly and repeatedly until it finally catches and then it idles fine @800 rpm. Warm start is fine. Spits and sputters on acceleration until 4,000 +/- rpm and then it runs smooth and fast. I replaced the spark plugs+plug wires. No difference in running. I can cover all 3 carb intake funnels on the right side and there is no difference in idle, If I cover just 1 intake funnel on the left side the car looses idle and dies. Can anyone help and point me in the direction I should look. Wish I wasn't such a novice on these cars but what can I say, I guess it's just too different from my ford exploder. Thanks for any assistance, skhnorth.
Old 08-21-2005, 06:13 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

You probably have multiple problems causing the symptoms you have described.