Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Question about Bead/Sand Blasting

I just bought my first blasting cabinet. I have no prior experience with this.

My question: what are the various blasting materials and what's best for various parts?

When I bought the cabinet, I didn't really know what type of blasting material to buy so I just grabbed a box off the shelf (i.e., 50lbs of aluminum oxide). When I got home and read the blast cabinet instructions, it said not to use aluminum oxide in this cabinet.

So, I'm planning on getting a variety of materials (i.e., sand, glass bead, walnut shells, plastic) but I thought I would ask the question and hopefully, get some expert advice - I'm planning on doing my suspension arms, engine tin (before powder coating) and possibly the battery tray area (with an external sprayer).

Any advice would be great...........................Vern
'16 BMW R Nine T (the fun one) & '17 BMW G310R
Old 09-21-2005, 01:57 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Vern,