Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Need advise - My car is coming out fo storage after 6 years.

I could really use some advise from the experts on the board:

This is not 914 related but I have gotten so much good advise for my 914 that I thought I would ask you guys.

I just bought a 1989 944 (base model). I'm new to 944's but I have been a 914 owner for many years.

The car is a 1989 with 37k miles. It's been parked for 6 years in a garage with a cover on it but has not been touched the entire time.

The guy I bought it from bought it new and it had been maintained well it's entire driving life.

It currently has a dead battery.

My plan is to replace the battery, squirt a little oil into the spark plug holes and start it up. Then I was going to replace the plug wires & plugs, change oil, & radiator fluid. I'm also going to put new tires on it. If I am able to get it up and running, I am going to take it into the shop and get the timing belt(s) replaced.

If anyone has any tips - I am open to suggestions. I'm really excited about this car as it is in pretty mint condition and has really low miles on it.

Thanks in advance...............Vern
'16 BMW R Nine T (the fun one) & '17 BMW G310R
Old 01-05-2007, 02:46 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
SanDiegoDon

After pulling the plugs and squirting some oil into the cylinders, crank the engine with the plugs out to get oil into the bearings, prime system, etc.