Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

914 1.7 4 carbs- spitting gas and exhaust from carb?

so I bought this 914 today that runs kind of ruff. I decided to take of all air-filters and cylinder number 3 is spitting up air and fuel.
What could be the problem? All the other carbs are fine and on occasion the car will backfire.
I tried using the search with no luck, Someone please help.

I am new to carburator cars. Sorry.
Old 03-11-2007, 10:27 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

have you done a valve job?

1980 911SC Targa - Sold
1972 914 - Sold
Old 03-11-2007, 12:03 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

valve job was done 1000 miles ago
Old 03-11-2007, 12:31 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

Also noticed that the gasket between the downtube and the carburator is wet. and is only wet on this one cylinder.
Old 03-11-2007, 12:38 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Administrator

Garage
Send a message via AIM to Dave at Pelican Parts Send a message via Yahoo to Dave at Pelican Parts
Downtube == manifold? Or is it above the carb?

Spitting up air and fuel sounds a lot like a valve problem. Do a compression test and see if that cylinder has significantly worse numbers than the rest. If so, you've got some $$$ you're gonna have to spend.

Check for vacuum leaks, too. Carbs dislike 'em, not as much as L-jet does, but they definitely don't like 'em!!

--DD

A few pics of my car: http://www.pelicanparts.com/gallery/Dave_Darling