Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Cooling system?

So I am brand new to 914's, and know very little about them. I just purchased a 1972 model - that has had an engine swap - thanks to forum members I know I now have a 2.0 motor - not a boxer!

The install is sloppy and incomplete - with parts hanging out all over the place - so I need to straighten it out. It fires right up - but has a bad lope to it!

My first question is the "Cooling System" . The Helms talks about the "thermostat" and it opening some "flaps". I see the big cage fan at the back of the engine - but can someone please orient a stupid newbie? I am concerned because i don't really see any ducting - just the engine laying there staring up at me!

secondly - on the front of the engine is some sort of tank with a plastic plug in the top of it. If I open the plug and put my finger in - it feels like cooling fins - like a radiator - so what is that tank?

Lastly - I need to put in a shifter bushing kit - I can get the kit - would I need instructions - or is it pretty self explanatory. I do have a 2 post lift - so thats gunna help alot!

I'm afraid i will be here alot - asking lots of dumb questions. Thanks in advance for whatever information and experience you can offer!

Carl Johansson
Fresno Ca.
Old 09-26-2007, 11:33 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Groucho Marxist

Garage
1st-the big cage fan you see is for the heater

2nd-That tank is the housing for your cooling fan, that draws in air, blows it across motor, particularly the cylinders and oil cooler.

3rd-Go herehttp://www.pelicanparts.com/914/914tech_articles.htm and look in "shift improvements"