Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Cross Country journey

I will soon be flying from Texas to Northern California to pick up a 914. The journey back will be about 1700 miles. I am new to 914's and was wondering if I could get some suggestions on what "spares" I should bring in case of emergency. The car was checked by a great shop and all seems to be well. Hopefully, I will have no problems. Any advice
Old 09-29-2007, 05:13 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Groucho Marxist

Garage
Where in Northern California? I presume someone looked at the car for you already (oops, missed that), will want oil change and valve adjust, maybe new battery.

Clutch and accelerator cables. Fuel pump, hose clamps and some of those little golf pencils to plug hoses. Gas can, tune up stuff, tools and a good jack, probably jack stands too, WTF, you will have two trunks.

I can make some suggestions for routes. Salt Lake City has some nice roads south of it on the way to Albuquerque, believe that is the area where the Allison family hails(Racing family, nascar, etc, etc.) Some roads in Northern Cali that are pretty stellar too, they just fixed a bunch of them around Yosemite
"Keep your eye on one thing and one thing only: how much government is spending, because thatís the true tax ... If youíre not paying for it in the form of explicit taxes, youíre paying for it indirectly in the form of inflation or in the form of borrowing."
Milton Friedman

Last edited by Tobra; 09-29-2007 at 06:29 AM.. Reason: missed shop comment
Old 09-29-2007, 06:27 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)