Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Tie rod ends

I have no experience in changing tie rod ends and I know I don't want to tackle the whole change over to turbo tie rods so how difficult is it to just change the tie rod ends. Any tips and instruction would be appreciated. The ones on my 914 now have cracked rubber boots so I know they are shot. Thanks

Old 01-30-2009, 03:33 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonnieJ View Post
I have no experience in changing tie rod ends and I know I don't want to tackle the whole change over to turbo tie rods so how difficult is it to just change the tie rod ends. Any tips and instruction would be appreciated. The ones on my 914 now have cracked rubber boots so I know they are shot. Thanks
You should assume the existing ones are rusted in place. So the plan off attack should be get some GOOD penetrating fluid like Kroil, PB Blaster etc. and start spraying the nut on the tie rod. I would do this over several days to give yourself a fighting chance. Having heat ( torch ) as backup is a good idea. Once you get the nut to loosen you will have to seperate the tie rod end from the strut arm. This can be done with a pickle fork or a BFH ( big f___in hammer ). After that the rest is fairly straight forward. Not sure why you wouldn't want to upgrade to turbo tie rod ends? I did it on mine and it was a piece of cake. Good luck.
Old 01-31-2009, 03:57 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Registered