Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Question Master Cylinder Question

Hey Folks,

Got a quick 914 related question... I have a 914 17mm master cylinder in a Bug with front VW Ghia discs and rear CB Performance Roto-Hub discs.

The stopping power is great with this setup and the 914 M/C really makes a nice pedal feel.

I have one problem, the rear brakes keep hanging up, sometime pretty badly. When they are hung up, there is almost no play in the brake pedal, it has pressure from the top stroke.

When the brakes unhang, the pedal returns to normal (about 1-2" of freeplay).

Is there a residual valve in 914 M/C's? I don't have the porportioning valve installed, the brakes are very balanced as-is.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Tom Perso
1963 VW Bug
1971 IRS Chassis, 2270cc T4 Power, 4-wheel discs, the list goes on
http://www.qtm.net/~persoj
Old 08-16-2002, 03:02 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

If your rear brakes are hanging up, the rear brake pistons are not retracting. That means when you press the pedal again, you don't have to displace the fluid to move them with the master cylinder stroke. Less stroke of the master cylinder, less pedal travel.
Harvey
Old 08-16-2002, 03:51 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

does your cb setup have the same adjustment feature (venting clearance) as the stock 914's?

kevin

Last edited by Kevin Powers; 08-16-2002 at 04:09 AM..
Old 08-16-2002, 04:05 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)