Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
No Fuel Pressure

I'm new to my 914 and I'm trying to debug my fuel system. 1972, stock FI AFAICT.

Symptom: fuel at the pump, rail isn't getting pressurized at startup.

I hear the fuel pump start up for a second when I turn the key to the on position, so it may work, but I'm not sure. I've been trying to open the air-flow meter flap, which I've read that I need to do to activate the pump, but I'm not sure I'm moving the right thing. Is this it:
https://m.flickr.com/#/photos/avocado_tom/14472480113/

I'm guessing my next step is to remove the outlet line from the fuel pump to see if anything comes out when I initially turn the key, but I'm looking for debugging guidance...
Old 06-18-2014, 08:10 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

confusion here. a 1972 car should have D- jet injection, the airflow meter is not in a D-let car, only on L-jet cars. So what do you have for an injection system, D-jet or L-jet?

Certainly check the pump for flow, do not run the pump for long if it is not flowing, gas flow helps keep it cool.

the pump could be hooked up wrong, re-check all connections, make sure tank outlet is not clogged, there is an internal wire mesh filter inside the tank, replaceable by removing the outlet fitting. also of course check the inline filter that is right before the pump, mounted on the lower forward engine fire wall (access near pump).

PS what is AFAICT?
Old 06-18-2014, 09:38 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage