Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Just recieved a FREE 914

Hello group. This is my first time posting here. I am a regular Rennlist groupie though.

I just wanted to share a story. During Parade here in Boise this summer, a friend of ours was visiting that I knew had a 914. He is in his late 70's and with his wife is pretty much living in his motorhome now. I told him that my wife and I were looking for a 914. He said to just come and get his. He had a 1974 914 1.8 that he had not started in about 4 years and and it was taking up room in his garage. I knew he had owned it for the last 20 or so years and had bought it from the original owner, so I jumped at it. I got it home this weekend and all I can say is "Wow".

Let me just say that these type of situations are only dreamed
about. This little guards red 914 is IMMACULATE. I am talking about absolutely CORRECT in every manner. It is bone stock. It has ZERO RUST. The battery tray is still painted nicely from the factory. The car had not been started in 4 years. I installed a new battery, checked the oil (still clear and yellow) hit the key and it fired right up. No smoke or anything. It just sat there and idled nicely.

The interior is spotless except for one split in the drivers door sill