Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

914 newbie...need opinions

Hi,
I need some advice. I presently own a 84 944, and used to own an E30 BMW (IX). I have always wanted to own a 914, specifically to get one as a project car to learn some mechanics with. Now here are some of my questions.
1) Does the 914 make for a good car to learn on? Assuming the person working on it is a complete newbie in mechanics?
2) Is a 914 a bad idea for a newbie since parts are hard to come by?

Now, the 944 I have is pretty much mint, and I'm not sure I'd want to use it as a track car (have yet to step foot on a track, but want to start within 1-2 years). I was thinking sell the 944, pick up a 325is as an everyday/track car, and pick up a 914 project car to learn with? What do you guys think? The IX I had seems easier to work on than the 944, and offers some decent performance for the price. In any case, what would you guys do if you were in my situation? I am 22, so 944's seem to attract cops, hence another reason I'd like to sell it.

Thanks for the help
Old 12-30-2002, 07:29 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Send a message via ICQ to Bleyseng
If you are looking at 914's, buy the best RUST FREE car you can afford. 914's go from $4-7k for good to great cars. If you mean as a "project car" one that is sitting in someone yard with bushes and animals living in it for $500- forget it! Rust is very expensive to fix. Yes, I california you can find decent cars for $2500 and up but even they seem to be getting harder to find.