Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.50 average.
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

FG Flare Install

I began the install on my flares today. I have never done anything with fiberglass before so this is a real learning experience for me. I cut away most of the excess metal but left a little bit extra. Instead of trimming it off, I cut it into flaps and was thinking that I could glass them in on the underside of the flare. Does anyone have an opinion on doing it this way? Here is what I am talking about...

Here is how they are fitting so far... tomorrow I will epoxy them on than work on doing the glass "fitting."
Engine Rebuild & Restorations
Old 01-11-2003, 02:30 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

That is how I attached my flares. The only thing I did a little different was I removed all of the paint and primer from the bonding areas before cutting the "flaps" into the metal.

Best of luck and keep us posted.

Kerry

914-6 in the Werks
Old 01-11-2003, 03:09 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Kerry,
I actually realized that as I was posting the pic. I said to myself, "Self, you just made it real hard to strip that paint...you idiot!" Well, I went back into the garage for my punishment. Luckily my grinder with a cup brush was able to take it all off. I still have three more of these to do, so I will chalk that up to a lesson learned.