Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Recreational User

Garage
Vibration Issue: 1988 924S

Hey all,

I recently had some major work done on my car, including engine swap (used '88 2.5 liter), new clutch, and cheapy motor mounts. The car is all back together now, but I'm feeling some vibration. The funny thing is, the vibration is cyclical and not constant. If I have the car in neutral and hold the engine speed at a constant RPM, I can feel the vibration slowly go from smooth to rough and back again, over and over again. The mechanic I took it to who isn't super familiar with these cars thinks it's most likely the cheapy motor mounts. I'm not a mechanic, but in my mind - if the issue was simply cheap motor mounts - it seems like the vibration would be more constant/linear with the rise and fall of engine speed. My initial thought was the an out-of-balance flywheel. Maybe it wasn't resurfaced correctly? Of maybe an issue with the balancer shaft?

Does this issue sound familiar to anyone?
Old 09-08-2018, 03:09 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Too Many Porsches

You can feel motor mounts mostly at idle, sounds like your balance shafts are out and the most common mistake with those is the lower shaft being set 180 degrees out. It’s an easy mistake to make for someone unfamiliar with these cars. Does it get any better in the higher rev range?
Old 09-08-2018, 05:39 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

+1 on the balance shafts. I had one that was a tooth off. It made this harmonic vibration in the interior that drove me crazy.
Old 09-08-2018, 05:54 PM