Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Porsche 924 Non Starter

Hi all, I am a new owner of a 1987 Porsche 924S automatic. I am also a home mechanic with limited knowledge or equipment but need a helping hand. I bought it at auction with very limited knowledge about the car. When i got it, there was an alternator in the car and the balance shaft belt was removed, so i assumed they were replacing the alternator before selling it. The last MOT was 2014 and i can only assume it hasn't been started since then.

Since getting the car, I have replaced the fuel pump, fuel filter and rubber hoses by the tank. I also drained and flushed all the fuel, which came out green and was barely flammable. I put fresh fuel in and it is definitely getting to the fuel rail, as I can hear it when the pumps running. I also believe fuel is getting to the cylinders as when i take the spark plugs out they are wet.

The spark plugs are sparking when i take ground them to the car, I also connected the engine straight to the negative terminal of the battery in case it was a corroded ground wire.

There was a break in the vacuum line which I repaired and believe the rest of the lines to be good and connected properly.

After all this i turn the key and it turns over and wants to start, but only fires in one cylinder. This is because only one exhaust is warm, i think cylinder 4 (closest to the steering wheel).

The passenger foot-well seems dry so i don't think the DME is damaged but could have been previously. There's also a metal on metal noise coming from the engine which is worrying me.

So, what next to start it?? I am pretty much stumped!! Any help would be appreciated
Old 10-12-2018, 05:53 AM