Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Cylinder walls-Scoring

i have some scoring in the number three and four cylinder walls in my 84' engine block. I can only catch my finger nail on one of the lines in the number four cylinder wall. I am attaching some photos. Should I just take my chances or buy a different block? Will my 84' 944 harness work with an 87' engine? I will use an 85.5 Bosch DME or later.

Is honing something I can do myself?
Old 04-13-2019, 10:52 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Garage
I have been doing my own hobby wrenching for 40+ years and am one of the last generations of guys whose Dad did things common to his generation like rebuilding engines in the shade of trees, pouring bearings in the block and then using a rope towing the vehicle to get the engine moving and wear it a bit before starting. Dad became a top flight engineer, then fighter pilot and retired as an international airline captain. So much of what I learned came from that viewpoint.