Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

New to me 924S - no start

Hi all,

I'm new to the Porsche world. I have been deep into Audis for 10 years now and there seem to be a lot of similarities.

Anyway, I purchased a non-running 924S that the previous owner overheated and likely blew the head gasket on.

When I bought the car it was with the knowledge that a twin was placed in my local u-pull junkyard, so I knew I could get a spare engine right away. I've done enough engine swaps though that I wanted to get the existing car to at least run for a couple minutes and drive up the street and back before I start tearing it totally apart and spending $. I did grab the motor from the other car as well as a bunch of other stuff to make this one look better

Interior now all cleaned up and replaced one of the seats:

With that in mind, I am working to get it up and running. The starter spins well and I believe I have fuel. I did a compression test and got 150, 130, 175, 165 so cylinder 2 could be the culprit if there is indeed a blown head gasket

What I don't have is spark. I have replaced a couple of the known failure items, Coil, speed and crank sensors (I DO have tacho bounce when I crank), distributor cap and rotor

I have tested the DME relay and ended up pulling the whole fuse-box from the other car too. So I've tried with both relays (who both test as good)

The next thing I tore into was the DME itself. When I got it loose from the car it rattled - a bit unsettling.

This is what I found when I opened it up:

The R528 Resistor had fallen out of it's home and the R518 had one prong loose.

See below: I then soldered the resistor back in and re-flowed a bunch of other spots.