Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Send a message via AIM to shocker1322
968 engine in a 924S??

Will a 968 engine fit in and bolt up to the bell housing of a late 1987 924S? If not, a late model 2.7L 944 engine should correct? Also are these engines extremely hard to find, and where is a good place to look about getting engines? I am new to Porsches so help me out like I know nothing. Thanks!

Old 10-26-2003, 08:01 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Yes you are new to the 944 line.

Here are the rules:

If you wanted a turbo sell your 924S and buy a 951 (turbo)

If you wanted a 968 sell your 924S and buy a 968.

Other wise do the necessary maintenance on your 924S, timing belts, shocks, front suspension, anything but some whacked out Ricey crap and just enjoy the ride.
New Users please add your car's year and model to your signature line!
Never break more than you fix!
Old 10-26-2003, 09:03 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

To answer your question, yes, I think it'll physically bolt up. But to do that swap you're going to need a lot more than just an engine. You'll need the computer, exhaust, entire intake system and a whole host of other mi$cellaneou$ part$. Lots of work, lots of money spent that you won't get back when it's time to sell, and you'll still get beat - badly - by a 951 with a few easy mods.

That's why the guys on these forums will mostly tell you to sell your N/A and get a Turbo if you want to go fast. You'll never build an N/A that'll outperform a 951 for anywhere near price of a good used 951.