Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Question I'm new to 944's have questions

I may come over from the 911 side of the garage (although I will be keeping mine!) I love the looks of the 944's and I am ready to buy one for more frequent driving than my 911. I drove a stock 1986 951 and liked it alot except for the fact that nothing happens until 4K rpm. I can get used to it though because the pull after that is nice!. Wow do these handle !! OK then, would you say that the 86-87 ish 951's are alot better (faster + more fun) than a 89 944S2 ????

I know everything to look for on 911's but I know squat about these 944's. What are the historical problem areas I should know about before I hand over any money????

Thanks
Old 06-17-2004, 04:31 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to SlowToady
Good one FR

The S2 has about the same HP, but it has a much more linear torque curve which lends itself to more street friendly driving. On the other hand, it's pretty damn cool when the boost kicks in on a forced induction car. The 951 is also a lot easier to pull HP out of, the NA engines in the 944 line are expensive to gain power on. The S/S2 engines also have the 16V head which while it improves flow, it costs a ton more to fix if you throw a timing belt. They're somewhat rare (the head) and rather expensive. The timing belt/tensioner change on the S/S2 also costs more because there's more crap to change. However, if you're doing it yourself, it shouldn't be a big deal.