Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Age old timing belt question

Wife has an '85 944 & loves it. Timing belt obviously broke a couple of years ago & I'm tired of $2000 worth of repairs every year. This being said, I have a LOT of experience with American engines, V-8's & 4's & have done several timing belt replacements. Just how hard is this? I have another head from a shop here in town as well as a new belt, got plenty of metric tools too. All things being equal, I don't understand the problems with these belts as to why they don't have any life span & as soon as I can get a parts car I plan on making a V-8 Ford swap since it seems no one makes the stuff. Any kind of help is appreciated.

Old 11-25-2004, 06:48 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

My reluctance

I too have years of shade tree mechanic experience and don't shy away from many things automotive. One winter, when the car was up on blocks for its 6 month hiatus I succesfully rebuilt the 700R4 (4L60) automatic tranny from my 85 Vette. However, the thing that stopped me from doing this job on my 85.5 944 n/a is the $500 special tool required to set the correct belt tension. I live pretty far from population centers where it might be possible to rent or borrow the tool. I have read opinions of the "Kricket" tool which is sold as a low cost substitute for the Prosche tool, and decided to pay a Porsche dealer to do the job. Of course it cost me big bucks, but I feel that the peace of mind was worth it.
Old 11-25-2004, 07:22 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)