Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Porsche Crest I hear you knocking

Hi new friends.

I am a new (used) Porsche owner and this is my first time on the forum so be gentle.

I just bought an '88 924S that is in near mint condition. Did I say bought I mean stole. The doctor my wife works for gave it to me for $650 because he didn't have room for it next to his new Lotus.

Anyway, the only problem I have found is that when I down-shift I get a thumping sound from the drivetrane. I can't localize it but I think it from around the tranny or it could be the shaft from the engine. It is only on down-shift except I hear a small "chunk" sound on up-shift. I took it to a local shade-tree Porsche mechanic and he said don't worry about it.

I checked the drive shafts and CVs, they seem solid. Any thoughts to help out a new member of the club.

s.herald

Old 09-20-2005, 03:22 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

rubber donut ????
hitting the metal " stops" ???

if so, a clutch may be in your immediate future, however, I drove on mine like that for 9 months of 200-400 miles a day until it finally went..

It was about $1900 for a shop to do it. Way cheaper if you do it yourself before it actually goes and you have no choice but to bendover ...

Congrats on the purchase btw, and you will find that there are a few things that every newly purchased P-Car needs to set your mind at ease ...

People will be asking you when the timing belt was last changed or tensioned etc ....

All in all once you get past the initial " wierd problems" you will love that car !!!

Good luck & Welcome

Don