Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Serial Lurker

Send a message via AIM to ledhedsymbols
Dodging bullets!!!

As of the last couple of months, the 968 started to run a little rough. I was concerned about the balance belt, and I figured on a tune up and a couple other maintenance items.... Summer is Coming!
I have never tried the belts before, so I sprung for the P9201, and all the associated belts and rollers, it's been about 30K since the last change, and I have no record, so I decided to do the water pump at the same time. In for a penny and all that.
When I started the project, I got the covers off and everything out of the way. The first thing I noticed was that half the balance shaft belt was looking at me, the other half had gotten wadded up at the crank, and had been MELTED into a glob. Upon further inspection I determined that the timing belt was still 100% intact!
Thank God I decided to park it when I thought there was a problem.
The only hold up now is that when I ordered the parts from Pelican, they shifted in shipment and the water pump cut the water pump gasket. I called and true to form, the excellent customer service is in place. The new gasket is on the way express free of charge, sorry for the inconvenience sir! Thanks Pelican!

Moral of the story, if it sounds funny, it probably is. The possibel damage could have resulted in the Porsche being parked for the forseeable future. The repair parts for a timing belt failure on a 968 are astronomical!

Micah

Old 05-06-2006, 09:54 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Looks like someone just saved their valves and possibly whole motor