Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums

Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Interior light does not turn on when driver door opens??

I am a newbie to this board. I do not know alot about autos so please be patient. I have a little 1985/2 red 944, one owner, me. I drove her off the showroom almost 24 years ago. June 13th to be exact. I am trying to bring her back to A1 condition for her 25th birthday. My problem is when I open the driver side door the interior lights do not come on. When I open the hatch or the shotgun side door they work fine. Can someone tell me what I need to do to correct this? Thanks in advance.

stargsr
Old 12-21-2007, 06:03 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Send a message via AIM to Razorback1980
Relax, we are all friends here and willing to help. First, welcome to the forum, don't be a stranger. Problem is probably the switch located in the driver door. See if it is stuck in by pulling on it to see if it pulls out. If it does and the light doesn't work, then you probably should replace it.

1990 944S2 Cabriolet
2002 Chevy Silverado 2500HD
2003 Maroon Ford F350 dually
Old 12-21-2007, 06:36 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
in denial

sounds like you may have a bad, dirty or disconnected door switch. the switch can be found centered between where the door bolts onto the car. there is one philips screw there... take off the screw pull it out, but not too hard (you don't want to disconnect or break the wires.... make sure the wires are connected, and clean. let us know what you see there that'll help us to help you a little better.

thanks
Old 12-21-2007, 06:36 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
in denial

sorry tom.... you posted while i was typing...

also, if you need another switch... i have one you can have.