Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Porsche Crest 968 v. 928

I'm a newbie here and I've got an important question

I'll soon (hopefully) will be in the market for a front engine Porsche and, in my opinion, the two best cars in that category are the 928 and the 968. I am wondering what the opinions of the forum are and if I could get some pros and cons of each. I currently have a Corvette which I will be putting on the market to assist me in my purchase.

I like the looks of both, and frankly, that's probably because they look quite similar. The 928 is appealing because of the power but a detractor for me is its GT like nature, as opposed to a sports car such as the 968. I've always been a 944 turbo fan but the body on the 968 is beautiful and notwithstanding the turbo S, has more power. My concern with it is its power, however, as it only has a stock rating of 236. I'm not against modifications that net decent gains with little invasiveness but can one expect close to 300 naturally aspirated, reliable HP out of a 968 without tearing the lower half of the engine apart to get it?

I'd love to know what everyone thinks.

Thanks!
Old 07-25-2014, 07:44 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

depending on your budget for purchase and maintenance, and how you intend to drive the car, should be the determining factor for this decision.

a 968, being a 944 derivative, is a very good car. the power number sounds low compared to your corvette perhaps but it certainly feels and drives like there's plenty there. it is nice to ride in around town and on long trips.