Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Porsche 944 in the Snow

I live in Connecticut which gets about 24 inches of snow a year. I have a pretty steep driveway and will sometimes be covered in 3 inches of snow. I am a brand new driver but am able to use a manual easily. I am looking for cars to buy and how would a 944 perform in these conditions? I would only use it to get to school and back in the winter, and to my job 10 miles away in the summer. Is the Porsche 944 the right car for me? What would be a better car under 5 or 6k? I would prefer a 2 door coupe or 4 door sedan, maybe something I could tinker with coil-overs or exhaust systems. Thanks in advance for your advice.
Old 08-31-2016, 06:03 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Going faster all the time

Garage
3 inches is not deep... but the 944 doesn't have a lot of ground clearance.
Skinny snow tires make a HUGE difference.

A 4wd boxer engine (in a subaru) is a much better beater.

You could consider a 4 motion golf or another german car...
save the 944 from the snow.
Then: 1973 914 2.0 Marathon Blue | 1986 944T Alpine White | 2004 40th AE 911(996) #898 | 1987 944 Guards Red | 1976 914 2.0 Summer Yellow
Old 08-31-2016, 06:17 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage