Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums

Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
  We salute a legendary member of the community.
Thank you for selflessly sharing your wisdom with us...
Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 928 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Super Chip advice?

Once again I am new to the 928.. I know my share about the common vehicle and with the help of many people here and around I will slowly learn more about the 928's.. Advice on installing a super chip. Good-bad or not worth it. Very unfamiliar with this stuff.. Thanks
Old 12-25-2010, 10:58 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Network Native

Many 85/86 already have some version or copy of the AA chip, others don't really need it.

Sharktuning I think is best, many are very happy with Porkens chips and mods, PorKen Products .

Generally its best to get your 928 running 100% in stock condition before diddling around. Fancy new exhaust, chips etc do not compensate for deferred maintainence of leaky vacuum hoses and dirty electrical contacts.
Old 12-26-2010, 04:02 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
jdill

Garage
I recently had the pleasure of swapping my first motor in my 1985 due to a broken cam,workshop manual good but could be revised with leaving wiring harness in the car
Old 12-26-2010, 05:48 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
928: Serial Enabler

Car must first be sorted well.

Knock protection is critical and early 32V cars are detuned at factory and have sensors that help dial timing to protect against knock. Next batch of 32V cars had additional direct knock sensors to augment, therefore could be factory tuned a little more.

Not wise to chip/thrash these without first sorting perfectly the base car.