Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 928 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

'84 s2 missing and stumbling

Gentlemen, I am nearing the end of my rope here. I am an ex dealer mechanic currently working on an '84 928 s2, euro model, no cat. While I have loads of aircooled experience these things (928's) have always been pretty thin on the ground at the dealer (no surprise given what they charge) and as such I have only worked on a handful and I am running out of ideas as to what could be the trouble with this one.

So, I come to the brain trust in hopes one of you can point out something I may have missed.

As stated the car is a 1984 928S2, euro model, no cat. It runs great with a slight surge on full throttle when cold, and once it warms up it picks up a strong missfire / stumble that eventually makes it undrivable. This happens pretty mucvh as soon as the temp gauge reaches normal. Idles pretty good if slightly lumpy, ok at part throttle (but not great) and at WOT it really stumbles and surges. Feels like it is running very lean. Revs to about 4k RPM under these conditions then struggles to rev any higher. And as it warms up to fully heat soaked this gets worse and worse such that eventually it becomes dangerous to drive in traffic as it cannot really get out of the way at intersections.

Compression is even at around 160 on all 8
plugs are new (ish) and white indicating lean running
cap, rotor, coils, all new.
plug wires check out as ok
fuel pump new, fuel pressure at test port is 25 psi at tick-over/idle
both FPR's are 6 months old.
I've set the CO to 1.5 with a CO meter, lambda (at idle of course) is 1.04 (seems reasonable)