Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 928 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Porsche Crest 928 v. 968

I'm a newbie here and I've got an important question

I'll soon (hopefully) will be in the market for a front engine Porsche and, in my opinion, the two best cars in that category are the 928 and the 968. I am wondering what the opinions of the forum are and if I could get some pros and cons of each. I currently have a Corvette which I will be putting on the market to assist me in my purchase.

I like the looks of both, and frankly, that's probably because they look quite similar. The 928 is appealing because of the power but a detractor for me is its GT like nature, as opposed to a sports car such as the 968. I've always been a 944 turbo fan but the body on the 968 is beautiful and notwithstanding the turbo S, has more power. My concern with it is its power, however, as it only has a stock rating of 236. I'm not against modifications that net decent gains with little invasiveness but can one expect close to 300 naturally aspirated, reliable HP out of a 968 without tearing the lower half of the engine apart to get it?

I'd love to know what everyone thinks.

Thanks!
Old 07-25-2014, 08:41 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

If you are looking for a 968, DocMirror on RL has one for sale. It's a pretty nice example of a 968, and he's caught up with the deferred maintenance. Give him a PM on RL

No affiliation, but I have ridden in it.
Indishrot 1984 Euro S AT (The Stepson)
Black Metallic 1984 Euro S 5 speed (The Schwartz)
Old 07-25-2014, 09:28 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage