Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 928 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

928 Mechanical restoration - Reliability? (1981model)

I'm new to 928 ownership although not new to Pelican having saved a 73 911.

I didn't buy this car because I wanted a cheap sportscar, but because I wanted a 928 that I could drive reliably.

While I don't want to wast money, I don't want to be cheap and shoot myself in the foot, so preventative maintenance is what I am planning. I see the sticky thread on common issues, but I'd like to baseline the car and create a brief paint by numbers list for myself of what to take care of before it causes problem, so if you want to contribute please jump in.

(I see lots of relay problems for instance, and wonder if I shouldn't just try to replace them all and keep the old ones as spares? ... or at least the ones that would make it non drivable (things that would stop the fuel pump and injectors from working for instance)

Here is my list of accomplishments so far, working from back to front with the fuel system. What else in order of while I am in there, or in order of importance?
  1. Replace leaking gas tank
  2. replace fuel pump
  3. replace filter
  4. replace all rear hoses by the tank
  5. fix connectors and brittle wire near the fuel pump
  6. ???

Last edited by wayner; 02-05-2018 at 10:49 AM..
Old 02-05-2018, 10:16 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Old 02-05-2018, 10:17 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage