Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 944 Turbo and Turbo S

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
A "mature" version of a 951

I might get "flamed" for this post, but here goes!

I love my '72 911 and '86 951, but I decided I wanted to get something "fun", that was new, that I could drive everyday, and occasionally drive to the track. I just can't get my head around spending $60K for a base Cayman. The WRX is ugly, and the BRZ is anemic. This led me to do something I have never done before...I bought an American car (gasp!). I picked up a new 2018 Mustang Ecoboost w/ Performance Pack, 6spd. Not sure if you've read much about these cars, but the current generation is a thoroughly modern chassis, and with the turbo four, actually reminds me of a "mature" 951 (including the extra bulk that often comes with maturity). This car stickered for $29,890 and sold for $25,400. 310hp and 350lb/ft, large Brembo 4 piston calipers on 14" rotors, stiffer springs, sways, shocks, strut brace, etc. It's just crazy value at that price. Would I rather have a new Cayman? Sure, for maybe $40K. Hell, I'd rather have a BRZ...if it came with the WRX engine! But it's hard to find new "performance car" value that's better than this. (and with a little tweaking, these things are over 400 hp and 500 lb/ft!)

I put this post here because I honestly don't think I would have considered a Turbo Mustang had it not been for my experience owning the 951. The 951 really opened my eyes to the performance potential of a 4 cyl turbo in a front engine, rwd platform.

'12 VW CC VR6
'18 Mustang Eco PP
Old 03-07-2018, 10:23 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)