Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 964 & 993 Technical Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered User
 
silver911rdb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wethersfield, CT
Posts: 556
Garage
How to get rid of 993 Immobilizer

Does anyone know how to bypass or eliminate the immobilizer on a 1996 993 C4S?
__________________
-Rich-

1984 911 Track
1985 911 Track/Autocross
Old 04-09-2009, 05:45 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
livesportm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 165
Most guys that reflash the ecu can remove it.
__________________
Stan D
Old 04-09-2009, 11:12 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Don Plumley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Geyserville, CA
Posts: 6,816
Garage
A 96 is problematic AFIK, if you have a 97+ you can have the chip reflashed, Steve Weiner on the board does this. Not sure if you can do it to a 96, would like to know if you can.
__________________
Don Plumley
96 993 Track Hippo | Spinning Hippo Racing
Old 04-10-2009, 09:09 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Sonic dB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 4,908
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Plumley View Post
A 96 is problematic AFIK, if you have a 97+ you can have the chip reflashed, Steve Weiner on the board does this. Not sure if you can do it to a 96, would like to know if you can.

God that is useful...thanx
Old 04-11-2009, 12:03 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Bill Verburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 22,405
Garage
On a transplant a chip can eliminate the immobilizer function, but on a 993 just using a non immobilizer chip hasn't stopped the immobilizer from acting as usual.

I'd need to look it up but as I recall there is a relay that needs to be jumped to bypass the immobilizers effect.
__________________
Bill Verburg
'76 Carrera 3.6RS(nee C3/hotrod), '95 993RS/CS(clone)
| Pelican Home |Rennlist Wheels |Rennlist Brakes |
Old 04-11-2009, 07:29 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 238
I think it is safe to say that a method of eliminating the Immobizer function is something that many of us would dearly like to know. Please give us any information you have.
__________________
Chuck

'96 993 C2 coupe
'87 Carrera coupe - gone but not forgotten
many lesser vehicles
Old 04-11-2009, 07:52 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #6 (permalink)
 
Now Available for Ordering:   101 Projects For Your BMW 3 Series 1982-2000  [more info]
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Hello

Owning an euro 96' with OBD1 - I am very much bored by the immobilizer and want to get rid of it.
I have studied the wiring diagrams and it seems that the immo is just a radio switched +12V feeder : meaning that it just feeds the Motronic at Pin 27 with TERM 15 +12V.
If not mistaken we just need to replace this source of TERM 15 +12V.
I do not imagine the immobilizer sending a coded signal to the Motronic.
My studies showed that I need to:
1- Put a Jumper on relay R61 between Pin 7 and 3
2- Put a Jumper on connector X4/1 between Pin 10 and Pin 2 (Term 15 feed to DME)
3- Connector X 4/2 : cut Pin 12 (Or/Bk) ??? : as per manual when changing wiring diagram (action not yet understood ...linked to diag socket)

These actions have not been tried and would be great to have your point of view.
Regards
Nicolas
P993 96'
Old 04-13-2009, 02:38 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #7 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Bill Verburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 22,405
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedik View Post
Hello

Owning an euro 96' with OBD1 - I am very much bored by the immobilizer and want to get rid of it.
I have studied the wiring diagrams and it seems that the immo is just a radio switched +12V feeder : meaning that it just feeds the Motronic at Pin 27 with TERM 15 +12V.
If not mistaken we just need to replace this source of TERM 15 +12V.
I do not imagine the immobilizer sending a coded signal to the Motronic.
My studies showed that I need to:
1- Put a Jumper on relay R61 between Pin 7 and 3
2- Put a Jumper on connector X4/1 between Pin 10 and Pin 2 (Term 15 feed to DME)
3- Connector X 4/2 : cut Pin 12 (Or/Bk) ??? : as per manual when changing wiring diagram (action not yet understood ...linked to diag socket)

These actions have not been tried and would be great to have your point of view.
Regards
Nicolas
P993 96'
There is communication going on between the immobilizer and the DME.

The forst thing I tried to by pas it was to install a non immobilizer chip. No go.

additionally i've tried an immobilizer chip in a non immobilized car, again , no go.

I believe that 2 things have to happen
1) chip change to non-immobilized spec
2) jump relays perhaps as described above.
__________________
Bill Verburg
'76 Carrera 3.6RS(nee C3/hotrod), '95 993RS/CS(clone)
| Pelican Home |Rennlist Wheels |Rennlist Brakes |
Old 04-13-2009, 07:10 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
If I have time I will try this sunday to bypass the immo.
As seen in the wiring diagram the immo act as a relay with 2 function:
1- Activate the R61 Starter relay
2- Activate the DME with TERM 15 +12V
In the wiring only one wire is routed between the immo and the DME and it is described as +12V feeding.

As per the wiring the change of eprom cannot change the physical "mission" of the immo.

Let's hope that the problem is only the presence of immo and not also an eprom dedicated soft in the DME.

BTW I am looking at OBD 1 wiring with a 55AMP connector for the DME - in the US you seem to have 88 pin connector for the DME when car equipped with multi lambda sensors.
Old 04-16-2009, 12:58 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
930gt-40r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,063
I have started a TT with a jumper going to the starter side of the imobalizer relay and it fired right up. Does any 993 have a more inteligent immobalizer? This also worked on a 99' F355 that has the same immobilizer setup that the 993 does.
__________________
Kris @ Tech9
86' 930/GT-40R Sold
94' Rustang GT daily (long gone)
2008 C6/Z51 Corvette
Old 04-23-2009, 02:21 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Steve W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: PV Estates, CA
Posts: 2,214
Garage
The 96-98 Euro 993 and 993RS immobilizers can be defeated, but removing the immobilizer code within the DME chip is necessary. I'm not certain if other relay changes need to be done though.
Old 04-25-2009, 01:51 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #11 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Bill Verburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 22,405
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve W View Post
The 96-98 Euro 993 and 993RS immobilizers can be defeated, but removing the immobilizer code within the DME chip is necessary. I'm not certain if other relay changes need to be done though.
I have 2 custom chips w/o immobilizer code, neither will allow the car to start w/o a jumper

chassis -'95 US, DME is '95 US, engine is '97 RoW
__________________
Bill Verburg
'76 Carrera 3.6RS(nee C3/hotrod), '95 993RS/CS(clone)
| Pelican Home |Rennlist Wheels |Rennlist Brakes |
Old 04-25-2009, 03:31 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #12 (permalink)
Alter Ego Racing
 
ErVikingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 4,440
Is there an answer to this? 97 C2S with PITA inmobilizer......
__________________
Porsche GT3 Cup Trophy Champion
Klub Sport Challenge Champion
Rolex Vintage Endurance Series Champion
PCA Club Racing Champion
National Vintage Racing Champion
Old 11-09-2011, 07:14 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #13 (permalink)
Moderator
 
Bill Verburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 22,405
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErVikingo View Post
Is there an answer to this? 97 C2S with PITA inmobilizer......
2 things are necessary, this worrks on my own OBD1 car and I've seen it done on a 993tt so it should work on an OBDII '97
1) non immobilizer chip
2) non immobilizer relay to replace R61 relay

read this thread
__________________
Bill Verburg
'76 Carrera 3.6RS(nee C3/hotrod), '95 993RS/CS(clone)
| Pelican Home |Rennlist Wheels |Rennlist Brakes |
Old 11-09-2011, 11:20 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
carsonmx114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: backwoods, alabama
Posts: 331
Small yellow/black wire from immobilizer to starter relay needs to be energized when you turn the key to the start position, or you could just jump the start relay. I lifted my fuse panel and cut the yellow/black wire then soldered it onto the wire from the key (maybe a large yellow, I can't remember). The problem you may have is the immobilizer is the part that recieves the signal from your alarm remote, it then sends a ground pulse to arm and disarm the alarm. My immoblizier was missing when I got my car (rolling chassis) so I installed a keyless entry system under the driver's seat, now my alarm works fine with no immobilizer.
__________________
86' 951
k26/27 hybrid turbo
01' audi s4
98' TDI jetta
96' 933tt AWD LS1
Old 11-10-2011, 06:35 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver,Colorado
Posts: 2
Exclamation 993 immobilizer fix/bypass

I have found a fix/bypass for this immobilizer issue as long as long you still have a semi functioning remote. This has been working 3 months on a customers 993. I just did the same fix for his sons 993 and both have been able to start it everytime they get in the car without having to disarm the factory immobilizer from the remote ever again. The bypass cost $200 if done here in denver or plus air fair if cheaper than shipping it to me...LOL... I also offer doing a viper alarm to regain keyless entry and security feature again for $500. I am looking for other models that this may work for... This was found after Porsche couldn't program new remotes at the dealership and I was asked to help... Let me know as I'm always up to a challenge...


Thespeedofsound@comcast.net
Bill Howard
720-732-5479
Old 12-10-2012, 08:31 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denver,Colorado
Posts: 2
993 immobilizer bypass

**UPDATE**
Since I posted this years ago, I’ve done quite a few of these bypasses. They’ve all worked perfectly with no issues or side affects. I did discover that when doing this bypass we do have to install either keyless entry or an alarm every time to achieve door lock functionality. This whole process takes a day at our shop to complete. Be assured that we are not a hack shop, and that any work we do is completely reversible if wanted. The total cost will be $450 bypass/keyless or $550 bypass/alarm...
Premier Car Audio
625 E. 70th Ave #1W
Denver, Co 80229
Premiercaraudio@comcast.net

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thespeedofsound View Post
I have found a fix/bypass for this immobilizer issue as long as long you still have a semi functioning remote. This has been working 3 months on a customers 993. I just did the same fix for his sons 993 and both have been able to start it everytime they get in the car without having to disarm the factory immobilizer from the remote ever again. The bypass cost $200 if done here in denver or plus air fair if cheaper than shipping it to me...LOL... I also offer doing a viper alarm to regain keyless entry and security feature again for $500. I am looking for other models that this may work for... This was found after Porsche couldn't program new remotes at the dealership and I was asked to help... Let me know as I'm always up to a challenge...


Thespeedofsound@comcast.net
Bill Howard
720-732-5479
Old 01-20-2018, 06:37 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orem, Ut.
Posts: 28
Since my immobilizer still is working well, I have not tried this, but on page 96-11 of the Bentley service manual for the 993, it explains the procedure of how to deactivate the immobilizer system. As mentioned in the post above, it would appear you would need to install some sort of aftermarket alarm system to lock doors and have a functional alarm.
Old 01-23-2018, 04:28 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Small town Oklahoma
Posts: 662
Garage
I did just what Bill V. Said. On my 95 993 and it works great. Door locks still work. Even the little red lights on the doors blink when locked
Old 01-23-2018, 08:34 PM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #19 (permalink)
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

 


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:29 PM.


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2017 Pelican Parts LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page
 

DTO Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.