Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums

Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
1990 Porsche C2 - Idle Control Valve

I'm new to this 911 forum, as I just purchased a 1990 Carrera 2 and need advice.

I changed the ICV last night (it was diagnosed as the reason for my high idle rpm) and when I re-started the car I noticed the idle immediately dropped to 650 rpm and notice that it wants to cut out when I come to a stop. I'm guessing I need to "turn the idle" up but my manual does not direct me to this procedure.

Where can I find documentation or assistance to solve this low idle problem I'm now encountering? Any help with diagrams or pictures would be appreciated...
2002 Porsche 911 C4S (996)
Old 06-29-2009, 03:01 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Have you driven the car very far? I think your DME needs to adapt to the new ISV, mine was the same after cleaning the ISV but was great after a ten mile drive.
Old 06-30-2009, 01:37 AM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage

I re-installed the "old" ICV this morning. The low rpm caused many stalls yesterday at traffic lights and stop signs. Very frustrating. With the "old ICV the car idles at 1100 rpm and other than drives well. I'm told it should operate at between 800 - 950 rpm. So until I get further assistance (books, forum, etc.) I'm leaving it alone.

Are there any detailed books or repair manuals that someone can recommend for me to purchase to assist in this and future routine repairs and adjustments on this model Porsche?

"Klr10" thanks for the response to my question. I did drive awhile after changing out the ICV, and I think it would have been enough to allow the DME (?) to adapt to the new ICV. I'm not even aware of the terminology DME? I have allot to learn about this car and it's nuisances....
Old 06-30-2009, 09:46 AM